Author Topic: Are the periscopes on the new Revell kit wrong?  (Read 980 times)

Offline bill_c

• Lieutenant
Are the periscopes on the new Revell kit wrong?
« on: 16 Jun , 2020, 09:54 »
Working on a review for Model Shipwrights (part of the Kitmaker Network where I have been an editor, etc. for many years), and I'm concerned the RoG U-67/U-154 is inaccurate: to wit, the C model of the Type IX reduced the number of periscopes from 3 to 2, but the kit has three. Is this wrong?

Offline dougie47

• Administrator
Re: Are the periscopes on the new Revell kit wrong?
« Reply #1 on: 25 Jul , 2021, 15:29 »
Hello Bill,

Sorry I did not respond to your post last year. You are correct about the third periscope not being present on IXCs and I can see you went with this in your review -
https://modelshipwrights.kitmaker.net/review/15195/index.htm

Revell erroneously added a third periscope where the periscopic rod aerial was on IXCs. There was never a periscope in this position on the port side of the tower bulwark on any IX variant.

Websites state that the third periscope was deleted in the IXCs, meaning that it was supposedly present on IXAs and IXBs. This leads to the question of where this third periscope was on IXAs and IXBs.

I can see that on the IXA U 38 there was a periscope housing (a vertical tube with a lid on it) on the centreline near to the front of the tower (in a very similar position to where the forward periscope was on VIIs). When they added the windscreen baseplate to the front of IXAs there was a round hole (with a removable periscope lid) so that the third periscope could be raised through this baseplate. The problem is that there was no removable lid on the windscreen baseplates of IXBs. Clearly there could be no periscope there or it wouldn't get through the baseplate. Nor can I see a periscope housing near the front of the tower on IXBs before the windscreen baseplate was added.