Author Topic: Grief's late war VIIC build  (Read 22355 times)

Offline Greif

• Admiral2
Grief's late war VIIC build
« on: 01 Jan , 2009, 04:14 »
Hello everyone,

my name is Ernest Roth.  I have been following the outstanding builds on this forum for a long time and have decided to "throw my hat in" as they say.  A little about me.  I am a recently retired Soldier from the U.S. Army and I live in Germany.  I have been a modeller for many years now.  Mostly I build either 1/35th scale WWII armor or 1/48th scale WWII aircraft.  (You can see one of my builds in the December 2008 Fine Scale Modeller gallery)

This is my second attempt at a naval subject.  The model is RoG's 1/72nd scale VIIc/41.  I plan to build a late war u-boat.  Currently I am researching either U-228 or U-307, neither of which were VIIc/41's, however their late war configuration they were both visually very, very close to a VIIc/41. 

The build will use Eduard's PE set, some of Eduard's resin set for the conning tower, AMP's own waterline decals and flag, (very nice products by the way!), and either ULAD's decal sheet or decals offered by Peddinghaus of Germany.  I will also be doing some minor scratch-building as necessary.

I look forward to conversing with the very skilled and knowledgable members of this forum, and admiring your work.

Sincerely,
Ernest Roth (Greif)

« Last Edit: 13 Jan , 2009, 05:05 by Greif »

Offline Greif

• Admiral2
Re: Grief's late war VIIC build
« Reply #1 on: 01 Jan , 2009, 04:20 »
Work has begun, or better said, here are a few photos of my build since beginning 10 days ago!

Below a the hull sides.  I opened most of the drainage holes and carved out the slit in the center.  I then used some evergreen strips to simulate the supports.  Overall I am fairly satisfied with the results.
« Last Edit: 01 Jan , 2009, 04:24 by Greif »

Offline Greif

• Admiral2
« Reply #2 on: 01 Jan , 2009, 04:35 »