Author Topic: Newbie here…1/72 Type VIIC - U96  (Read 4881 times)

Offline Machinehand

• Midshipman Cadet
Newbie here…1/72 Type VIIC - U96
« on: 17 Sep , 2014, 09:59 »
Hello, I’m new here. I was always fascinated by submarines as a kid. A few years ago I saw a 1/72 Type VIIC on EBay and I had to have it. I figured I would build it after I retired…in about 10 years.

I haven't built a model since I was a kid. I will say this...things have changed a bit. Back then we had testers glue in a tube, enamel in rattle cans, and the little glass bottles of Testers paint for brushing...that was about it. I had never heard of weathering, filtering, pigments, putty…etc. I had never used acrylic model paints or an airbrush for models. It was clear I would have a lot of catching up to do.

As a youngster my goal was to build models that looked pristine, shiny, and as perfect as possible. Of course, they never really turned out that way…finger prints, pain drips…etc. I wanted to do the opposite with this U-boat model. I wanted it to look as if it has been on patrol in the Atlantic for months...filthy, weathered, and rusty.

Because it was my first model in decades, I decided to build it out of the box...no upgrades. The only thing I chose not to use from the kit was the string supplied for tension cables (too fuzzy and didn't look like steel cable) and the decals. Since I wanted to build it as the U96 I ordered the AMP decal set along with the waterline markers. I recently ordered the German war ensign but it hasn’t arrived yet. I have seen some extraordinary examples of finished models using wood decks and brass detail sets to add more realism to the finished model. Perhaps some of them were done by members of this very forum. As a beginner, I didn't think I was ready for all that…one step at a time. It was going to be challenging enough to work with what was in the box and learn how to best use all of the new available products.