Author Topic: Some questions regarding Tamiya`s Bismarck  (Read 8039 times)

Offline Bad Karma

• Lieutenant
Some questions regarding Tamiya`s Bismarck
« on: 08 Aug , 2010, 10:45 »
Hi Guys,

question 1,

I am looking for set of brass props for my Tamiya`s Bismarck,
the ones from Tamiya are littlebit incorrect.

However I searched the web for this item and
found that the G-factor got only a set for the Revell Bismarck.

question 2,

As we speek I am installing a wood deck on Bismarck,
I have NO experience with this,what for paint I need to finish the deck,
my first thougts is flat varnish????

Thanks for you`re time.

my best regards,

Ron.

________
Let's just say I was testing the bounds of reality. I was curious to see what would happen. That's all it was: curiosity.

Jim Morrison

TRM

Re: Some questions regarding Tamiya`s Bismarck
« Reply #1 on: 08 Aug , 2010, 19:15 »
Hello Ron,

Regarding question 1  -  After looking in the only book I have on the Bismarck (The Discovery Of The Bismarck), the props are not that far off.  If you grab some brass rod for new shafts I think they will fit rather nicely.  You can file them to get a little more contour and maybe thin them out.  (See pics below)

Question 2 -  The same book....it appears she had a natural finished weather deck except where the bow and stern aircraft identification Swastika were.  Experiment with different stains to find a shading you are happy with. The wood decking you bought is most likely basswood or similar species.  Grab a 2 or 3 foot by 4 inch piece from a local hobby shop and test it up I am coming up[ with Cyprus, not Teak for the deck. This is lighter, but, I think you may want some definition with lighter as well as some darker boards.  You could stain the lighter color and mask off (paint staking but worth it) random boards.

Not sure if you have been here, try this...   Bismarck

Post some pics when you get some time, I would love to see your build.

Good Luck!

Offline Bad Karma