Author Topic: TYPE IX U-boot  (Read 24187 times)

Offline Trierarch

• Ensign
TYPE IX U-boot
« on: 11 Feb , 2009, 01:16 »
Hello,

Does anyone knows how good and accurate are the Combat models ships?

http://combatmodels.us/

They are producing vacu forms models of type IX among other ones in my favorite 1:72nd scale.

I would have like some feed back as they do not have photos of their kits on the link before I order anything.

Cordially,
 :)

Mr.Mox

Re: TYPE IX U-boot
« Reply #1 on: 11 Feb , 2009, 03:47 »
I did a google search on "combat models vac" and among other things, this turned up http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=394805 -

From the topic I would guess that with alot of work you can get a good result, but theres alot of work in those kits - but then again - $62 for a IX or XXI including some sort of detailpackage is fairly cheep all things considered.

Cheers/Jan

Offline Mr. Bill

• Commander
« Reply #2 on: 11 Feb , 2009, 08:21 »
I have a VIIC from Combat models that I purchased many years ago.  It is very basic, almost no detail at all.  The deck is the worst part and really can't be used at all.  Some problems with the forward hull lines that could be very difficult to remedy.  Flooding vents require lots of attention.  Overall, this kit would require a significant investment in time and seemingly endless scratch building in order to produce even mediocre results.  As a result, I have not attempted to even start this kit and it has remained in long term storage.  Don't know for certain if the Combat Type IX suffers from the same issues as the VIIC.

Offline Trierarch

• Ensign
« Reply #3 on: 11 Feb , 2009, 17:37 »
Thank you very much for your very useful advice,

Apparently not only they lack details, but that can always be fixed with hard work, even though some times it is more than hard work that is needed, but their scales is not very good... This is a non solving error for me.