Author Topic: Type V11 Deck Material  (Read 690 times)

Offline Raymic1

• Lt Cdr
Type V11 Deck Material
« on: 12 May , 2018, 16:53 »
Hello All.
This could be a basic question for most of you but not being a U-boat expert I thought I would just double check my understanding.

It seems to me that the Wooden deck slat construction was only on the /41 version as per U995 and not on the Type V11C?
Or is this a post war addition on U995 being the Type V11C/41?

In some literature it does mention parts of the deck of the Type V11C having wooden construction but in photos it does look metal to me.
Were some parts metal and some wood?

If this was metal on the Type V11C, I'm assuming it was also painted a black color for camouflage purposes?

Would not this metal also have been very slippery in icy and wet conditions?

Any help please?

UPDATE: And on the Nautilus Website they state
 "The Type VIIC U-boat was built with a slotted wood deck"

Is this correct?
The Type VIIC had a Slotted wooden deck?
The Type VIIC/41 had a Slat wooden deck?

UPDATE
Just answered my own question.
Quote from Subcommittee forum.